President Edgar Lungu has  appointed Esau Chulu as chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) subject to ratification by the National Assembly.
President Lungu has also appointed Emily Sikazwe and David Matongo as commissioners for the ECZ subject to ratification by the National Assembly.
Justice Chulu is currently serving as a commissioner at the ECZ.
He will replace Justice Ireen Mambilima who is now Chief Justice while Ms. Sikazwe will replace the late Mineva Tembo and Mr. Matongo will fill the vacancy to be left by Justice Chulu.
Meanwhile, the President has also reappointed Patrick Mvunga as chairperson of the Judicial Complaints Authority with Justice Christopher Mushabati and Lusaka lawyer Mwangala Zaloumis to continue as members.
Mr. Lungu has also repointed members of the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) board.
The President has since reminded the commissioners that corruption is a serious crime against development whose consequences are borne more by the poor and vulnerable Zambians.
This is contained in a statement released to ZANIS by Special Assistant to the President for Press and Public Relations Amos Chanda.